The one where I resolve to give up thinking

In my ongoing quest for feature ideas that will make Editors want to commission me for megabucks, I’ve tried more than a few weird and wacky pursuits.

I’ve ridden a horse, despite my terror, in a misguided attempt to embrace spontaneity. I’ve kept a diary of all the arguments I’ve had with my husband for a week and I’ve even whisked my son away for a weekend of Love Bombing. Which is nothing to do with terrorism or violence.

But my latest experiment isn’t for the purposes of publication. That’s not to say that it won’t turn into a feature at some point, but for now it’s purely personal. Er, except for the fact that I’m blogging about it.

My plan? To give up thinking.

I am a compulsive thinker. I do it way too much and it causes me no end of grief. While other people are happily thinking about nothing more challenging than what to have for dinner, I am usually running through a mental monologue that ranges from angst about the past all the way to fear about the future, with a good dose of worry about the present thrown in for good measure. It’s crippling. And that’s official – a clinical psychologist once told me that being a thinker is both my greatest strength and my biggest weakness. So I’m giving it up.

The idea came from Eckhart Tolle, and something my husband read to me from one of his books – The Power of Now – which, according to the blurb on the back, is ‘the bible du jour – a must-read for anyone looking for a modern day take on spirituality’.

It’s not my usual cup of tea, I’ll admit, but this stopped me in my tracks:

‘Not to be able to stop thinking is a dreadful affliction, but we don’t realise this because almost everybody is suffering from it, so it is considered normal… Thinking has become a disease. Disease happens when things get out of balance.’

I’d add some pithy conclusion here if I could but… I can’t think of one!

One thought on “The one where I resolve to give up thinking

  1. erniefraser says:

    Alas, I have the same ailment at times. However, I’d rather over-think than under-think. I can remember reading some books that have helped with focus and issues like this, but mostly they put forward formulas that purport to have the answers. I believe these are things we need to discover for ourselves. We can draw from the ideas that others put forward, but what works for you or me will be unique. It would be sad to lose that uniqueness by trying to follow a formula that someone else created.

Leave a Reply

